The Confessions of Jonathan Flite by Matthew J. Beier

Jonathan Flite claims to have memories he can’t explain. Seven layers of them, to be exact, all belonging to a group of teenagers who disappeared from a place called Idle County in 2010—ten years before his birth. Seventeen years of anxiety, violent outbursts, and refusal to admit he is lying have landed him at Crescent Rehabilitation Center, a seaside juvenile center for rich kids, and nobody has ever dared to believe his memories might be real.

Until now. On a blustery November day just three months after a nuclear terrorist attack in Geneva, Switzerland, ex-CIA psychiatrist Thomas Lumen arrives at Crescent to interview Jonathan for a book about Idle County. Fueled by his personal connection to the disappearances three decades earlier, he asks Jonathan to share what he knows—anything and everything.

I think this book is really well written and the basics of this story are great. the characters are really interesting and the way the book is written, by writting in the past, in different perspectives is amazing. I also think that the main plot or the idea is great but i don’t really think all of it together is nicely done. The final copy, -if this is it- is not good. everything-by itself- in it is amazing and the idea of this book, the way the boy had memories of other people is amazing and really good but i don’t think the story, as a whole is interesting, also the way that there were so many characters, it was really difficult to follow the story. I think it would have been much easier if there were less characters as it’s really difficult for readers to understand what is happening if they don’t remember who someone is. I think that was my main problem.

By all of these reasons I wasn’t able to finish this book,I don’t normally leave a book half read but in this case it was so confusing and just so boring because I couldn’t understand what was happening. I am really sorry, but I just was so bored.

Even though I have said all of this I do recommend this book to the type of readers who have a very good memory and would remember all of the characters and who they were as they will find this book very interesting.

Also, even if I didn’t enjoy this book, it doesn’t mean that I wouldn’t enjoy other of the authors books.

Leave a comment